Morocco is exposed to a wide range of urban risks exacerbated by vulnerability factors including rapid urbanization, unregulated construction, an aging building stock, and climate change. To facilitate the construction of tomorrow’s safe and resilient cities, comprehensive and effective building regulatory frameworks are needed. 

In the past decades, the Government of Morocco has made significant efforts to strengthen its building regulatory environment to enable the construction of safer, healthier, and more resilient buildings. Building on these efforts, the World Bank's Global Facility for Disaster Reduction and Recovery (GFDRR) Building Regulation for Resilience (BRR) Program, in partnership with the Ministry of Interior and the Ministry of National Planning, Urban Planning, Housing and City Policy with the support of the Government of Japan, has developed a diagnostic assessment of the country’s building regulatory framework to support the government in strengthening compliance with safe standards for land use and construction. 

The final assessment (Des Bâtiments Sûrs et Durables pour Renforcer la Résilience Urbaine : Évaluation du Cadre Réglementaire Marocain pour la Prévention des Risques dans l’Aménagement du Territoire et la Construction) aims to contribute to strengthening the safety and resilience of the built environment in Morocco and more generally to strengthen urban risk management. The assessment was developed between November 2019 and December 2020.  

Workshop Objectives

The objectives of the workshop are to present the assessment’s main findings and recommendation and to develop the basis for a roadmap to translate the recommendations into concrete actions. 

The specific objectives of the workshop are: 

  • To present the World Bank Building Regulation for Resilience Program and the main findings and recommendations of the assessment.  

  • To exchange and receive feedback from stakeholders on the main recommendations.  

  • To agree on next steps for the continuation of the work. 


Philipp Petermann

Theresa Abrassart

Ghizlane Aqariden