objective of this activity is to inform the development of a systematic dam
safety and community risk assessment and classification system (Risk Assessment
and Classification Framework or RACF) and to build the capacity of dam safety
agencies by conducting institutional benchmarking. The
objective is expected to be achieved through the two
components: Component 1: Risk Assessment
and Classification Framework; and Component
2: Institutional Benchmarking of Dam Safety in India. The
expected outputs by Component 1 are: RACF Tier 1:
Training Manual, User’s Manual, Report on results
of piloting Tier 1
in selected States; RACF
Tier 2: Tier 2
risk assessment tool; RACF
Tier 3: Tier 3
risk assessment tool;
and Dam Breach &
Consequence Assessment:
Guidance providing suitable tools and resources along with the results of some
pilot cases including summary statistics of consequences, flooding maps, other
data features of interest. The expected
outputs by Component 2 are: Training Manual;
Performance Report; Consolidated report; and Consultation workshops.

Sendai Priorities

Priority 1Understanding disaster risk
Priority 2Strengthening disaster risk governance to manage disaster risk
Priority 3Investing in disaster risk reduction for resilience
Priority 4Enhancing disaster preparedness for effective response and to “Build Back Better” in recovery, rehabilitation and reconstruction